>Bento boxes!

>I have been on a bento box kick lately, first with bee blocks…

Julie H's blocks.JPG

Not sure what a virtual quilting bee is? Check out this post from Oh, Fransson! and the ever-fabulous Quilting Bee Blocks site.

These are for Julie from the bee in my bonnet. Julie asked for a 13″ and a 5″ square-in-a-square block. She sent a ton of fabric, so I made an extra big block. Julie was inspired by this Film in the Fridge quilt, but asked us to make the rings whatever sizes we wanted.

It was so much fun, I decided to whip up a quick Halloween wall hanging with some fat quarters I got at my LQS while out looking for fabric to send out for my month of the bee.

halloween wall hanging.jpg

I got to use my walking foot for the first time quilting the straight lines on this baby. It’s loud, but I don’t know how I ever lived without it!

halloween wall hanging - quilting.jpg

I also used my free-motion/darning foot to create a spiderweb pattern with the quilting. It shows up better in the close-up photo. I’m getting a bit better at free-motion quilting, but I’m still struggling to keep the stitch length consistent. I’m really liking the gray thread, too. It looks like a real spiderweb, sometimes it looks invisible and sometimes it smacks you in the face.

Do you have any holiday projects going on?

5 thoughts on “>Bento boxes!

Leave a Reply

