>My new best friend

>

IMGP0024.JPG


Well I got a lot done the past few days. I finished cutting my fabric for my dad’s Happy Campers quilt earlier this week. Yesterday I finished laying everything out:

IMGP0039.JPG

I’m sure this would have come along a lot quicker if I weren’t so anal about how the fabrics are distributed. But since I am, I pinned up each block and set the stack by my machine. 

IMGP0042.JPG

I finished sewing three rows (15 out of 25 blocks) yesterday! I usually struggle with keeping seam allowances consistent, so I decided to measure after every piece I sewed on. It took some extra time, but it was well worth it. I didn’t rip the seam out every time I was off, but knowing how much I was off by allowed me to fudge it a bit with the next seam, so my blocks still came out 12½” square.

I also discovered my new best friend: Magic Sizing. I read about it on a few blogs and decided to give it a try. When I first started, I was spraying my fabrics down with Faultless spray starch, which has a heavier weight and made my fabric way too stiff. The Magic Sizing has a lighter weight. Keeps your fabric from stretching too much while you’re sewing them without making them über stiff. Love it! And for only a little over $1 at Wal-Mart. It’s one of my new can’t-live-without-it quilting supplies. Right up there with my rotary cutter.

IMGP0054.JPG

This is one of my “fat” log cabin blocks. If anyone is interested, I’m happy to post a tutorial when I’m done on how to turn one jelly roll and one charm pack into a quilt top. I know it’s pretty common sense, but it took me a while to figure out the math on cutting the strips to get what I needed for 25 blocks (and I’m pretty good at math!) — so let me know if that’s something you’d be interested in!

ETA: SoFunFabrics is having a sale! Check out the $6.99/yard listings for Sandi Henderson’s Meadowsweet collection. (It has me wishing I hadn’t already spent my March quilting allowance…)

Leave a Reply

