>I love puns

>

Pierre
It’s not too terribly often that I actually laugh out loud during a SNL opening monologue. A lot of the times the host isn’t someone particularly funny, it’s just someone who has a movie coming out. But last night Zach Galifianakis hosted and he, of course, did a bit with the piano. (If you don’t know anything about Zach Galifianakis other than he was in The Hangover, you’re missing out.) I was drinking my coffee this morning, watching SNL on TiVo, and nearly spit it out when he said:

I don’t know what I’m talking aboot. Excuse me, I’ve been in Canada, opening up for Miles Davis — Kilometers Davis.

It just completely caught me off guard. I made my boyfriend watch it later, and I still giggled the second time around. That made my day.
I spent way too much time on my computer today and no time at the sewing machine. Sadly, I haven’t made much progress since Thursday, when I knocked out 15 of my Happy Camper blocks (only 10 to go). I did, however, decide how I’m going to quilt it once I get it all put together. Nothing fancy, just squares echoing the design. I haven’t quilted in a long time, so something simple will be nice to get the feel of the machine again.
I also spent a good portion of my day playing with my camera. If I didn’t know a few things about photoshop, the pictures I’ve posted so far would be hideous. I know I have a good quality camera, it’s just a matter of getting it to take pictures the way I want. So I used my “baby,” Pierre, and my first completed quilt as models while testing various settings:
Pierre and "Scrappy Stars"
The quilt is called “scrappy stars.” The label was one of the piano keys from the border appliquéd on the back. I just wrote the name and date in sharpie. It fell off after a couple wash cycles, though. I found a bunch of leftover scraps from this quilt when I was cleaning the other day, though, so I think a new label is in order. Maybe I’ll do something along the lines of the one I made for my “Turning Twenty” quilt…
In sale news: eQuilter.com is having an anniversary sale. I would definitely be taking advantage if I hadn’t already spent my fabric budget for March.
Leave a Reply

