>Procrastination and bee blocks

>I have been procrastinating lately. I haven’t touched the Geese and Coins quilt since my last post. I’ve just about given up on having it done for the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. I would have to have it done, photographed, and posted by Friday.

To distract myself by the lack of things I’ve accomplished lately, I have a lovely assortment of bee blocks coming my way! October was my month the Bee in my Bonnet virtual quilting bee. I sent out some jummy Robert Kaufman Christmas-themed fabric, and pretty much asked my fellow bee members to go to town. Here’s what I’ve seen so far:

Amazing, right? My bee members graciously allowed me to post their photos, please click the links above to see each photo in its full glory on Flickr.

I’m going to add a 2″ red or green border to each block. Here’s a sketch I made last month before I shipped off my fabric:

loose sketch.JPG

Just as I was about to publish this post, Julie H. posted this beauty to Flickr:

Bee in My Bonnet: Meghan's Block (October 2010)

I haven’t made my own block for this quilt yet. Actually, I haven’t decided if I’m going to or not. Julie F. made two blocks, so I may make one myself for the front and work the extra block into the back, or I may not make a block.

I’m thinking of doing fairly simple, sparse quilting on this one so I can have it ready to snuggle under after Thanksgiving, and so I still have time to work on Christmas gifts.

3 thoughts on “>Procrastination and bee blocks

Leave a Reply

