>insomnia

>

FxCam_1294691227537.jpg

I work nights. This means I don’t really have to wake up before 2 p.m. on any given day. (I try to wake up before noon, though!) I get home from work around midnight, and I’m usually up until around 3 or 4 a.m. Lately, though, I’ve been unable to fall asleep until 6 a.m. or later.

Kurt Halsey birdie

I made this little birdie using the Sublime Stitching Kurt Halsey transfer and the floss Candi sent me. I think I’m going to add a few little details (maybe some of the stars from the pattern sheet?) and hang the hoop on the wall somewhere. I need to go to Jo-Ann’s to get a bunch of cheap wooden hoops, so my walls can look like Heather’s.

I’m planning to quilt this sucker today (or at least get the process started)

botany top

I keep going back and forth on whether to echo the diamond shapes (which would take longer and mean I have to go back and hide a million thread tails later), or just do organic, straight-line quilting (which I think would look awesome with the vertical print I’m using for the back). Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “>insomnia

  1. >I love that! The fabrics and colors are so gorgeous. If it was me I would probably just quilt the straight lines, but then I am lazy. 🙂 I like the fabric you chose for the backing!

  2. >Great great colors in your quilt! I really like the diamonds with the border! I'm not going to be any help with the quilting, but the organic lines do sound like they would flow with the piece. And your birdie is so darn cute!!

Leave a Reply

