>cathedral windows

>after seeing so many beautiful things like these last week…


I decided to try my own.

cathedral window practice


I used this tutorial, but sewed the frames down by hand.

cathedral window block


To the left in that photo, you’ll see the template I cut out of a cardboard box that once held frozen pizza. The makeup brush is for cleaning my machine; I lost the lint brush that came with it.

I’m planning to collect scraps from all the projects I work on and keep adding blocks to this one. It will be a nice hand project that I can work on at my leisure. The only thing I’m not sure I did right was when I sewed the frames down, I didn’t go through all the layers, just the top few.

IMAG0281.jpg

I’m going to ask the ladies at the Austin Modern Quilt Guild about it at our meeting tonight. Do you know if I did it right?


Also, if you’re looking at this post in a reader, please click over to the site and check out my redesign. I changed up the colors, some fonts, and the header image. What do you think?

9 thoughts on “>cathedral windows

  1. >Oh, I really like this project. It looks really difficult though. Also, I love the new header. FYI, I just gave you a blogging award, see my post from today for info.

  2. >i've seen the design before, but i've never read how to make them, so i'm not sure it's it wrong or not. But i always look at sewing as nothing is ever right or wrong, it just another way to approach the technique.Great Job on the blocks!!

  3. >I have only done them using the machine, but when you go through all the layers, it creates a pretty cathedral window pattern on the back side of the piece. So I'd say if you are making a quilt, going all the way through would be best, but if you're going to turn it into a pillow cover or hang it on the wall or something, it doesn't really matter 🙂

Leave a Reply

