>thrifty tip

>

strips
I know I don’t have to neatly lay out my paired-up strips in even rows… but I kind of like it.

Today’s entry truly lives up to the name of the blog. Sadly, I can’t take credit for it. I read it in the February issue of BHG’s American Patchwork and Quilting.

I save the extra backing and batting that I trim off a quit before binding. Why? Well honestly, just ’cause I’m a packrat. Also, a woman in my quilt guild collects that type of thing to stuff pet beds that a group she’s in makes and donates to area shelters.

So what can you do with those extra 2-4 inch strips of batting? Dust! That’s right, y’all. Batting is just as good as those Swiffer cloths. I used a piece to clean my ceiling fan last night:


I should probably do this more often than once a year…

dusty


That little bugger grabbed all the dust and held onto it! I bet if you had a Swiffer broom you could even attach batting to it instead of buying expensive refills.

3 thoughts on “>thrifty tip

Leave a Reply

