>it’s about to get autobiographical, y’all

>So a little while back, my friend Jimmie gave me a blog award. Blog awards are kind of like the new chain e-mails. Maybe this was just being at the right age with the right technological advances, but when I (and I’m wiling to best many others born in the mid-80) was in junior high, my friends and I would circulate chain e-mail “surveys.” This was back in the AOL 4.0 years. We would e-mail asking a bunch of questions (ranging from what color you wish you could die your hair to who you had a crush on, etc.) and then demand that the recipient reply with their answers and then forward the questions on to X number of other people.

So, with a blogging award, I’m supposed to:

  1. Thank and link back the person that awarded it to you.
  2. Share 7 things about yourself.
  3. Pay it forward to 15 recently discovered great bloggers.
  4. Contact those bloggers and tell them about their blog award.

And just to break it up some, I’ll include some completely unrelated pictures.


Kaffe Fasset fat quarters I got at a local quilt shop.
These will become a wall hanging for my bedroom.



Me and Jimmie, shortly before she left for Taiwan.

So, thanks, Jimmie! Anyone who knows me in real life or who reads this blog regularly has probably seen Jimmie’s name come up in here. Jimmie and I met in college, way back in 2005. We were fast friends, then roommates, and then the crazy chick graduated and decided to move halfway around the world! She lived in Taiwan for a year, and now she’s in Prague. Check out her 365 blog for a daily visual of life in the Czech Republic.

Now, seven things about me:

  1. I have a degree in journalism. I put this first, because as a general rule journalists write about others. And I really hate writing about myself. “But wait,” you’re thinking, “you write about yourself in this blog all the time, Meghan.” Well, you’re half right. I write about things I do. I try to stay away from introspective posts, partly because I don’t think too many people care (and if you do, we’ll chat one-on-one, because I probably care about your thoughts, too) but mostly because they remind me of masturbatory, teen-angsty livejournal posts.

  2. That said, I am not a writer. I switched over to the editing side of the newsroom while still in college. Being detail-oriented is pretty much a job requirement, and it really comes in handy when quilting. However, my job bleeds into my personal life quite a bit. I cringe every time I see someone using the wrong homophone (I often hear the voice of the fictional Ross Gellar in my head: “Y-O-U-apostrophe-R-E means ‘you are;’ Y-O-U-R means ‘YOUR’!”) or a superfluous apostrophe, and don’t even get me started on commas. And when I hear “Where is it at?” or “I think it went good” or, especially lately, “I feel badly” well, let’s just say if I were a cartoon, there’d be a puff of smoke above my beet-red head.

    Just for fun, and to see if anyone’s actually reading this, I’ll ship a few fat quarters to the first person who can tell me what’s wrong will all three of those phrases. I predict the last one will be the most troublesome.

    Haven’t shown this on the blog yet, actually. This was my
    mom’s Christmas gift. A wall hanging for her classroom
    (she teaches sixth grade).


  3. I’m a homebody. I’m just not one of those people who feels the urge to get out of the house just for the sake of going out. I’m the person who celebrates nice weather by opening the windows.

  4. I am very close to my family. I talk to my parents and my brother about all the major events in my life, and quite a few of the minor ones. Whether I just got dumped or promoted, the three of them are in the top five people I call.

  5. I love television. I don’t care how unintelligent that sounds. It’s true. I have the TV on as I write this post. I like television like most people love music. I look forward to new shows every fall and spring, and I record all my favorite shows while I’m at work. The key to a good show is in the writing, I think, and central to that is the character development. I talk about TV shows like book clubs talk about whatever Oprah told them to read that month. (Also, I’m not afraid to admit that I cried my eyes out at the Jan. 3 How I Met Your Mother.)

    I sketched the patchwork design in pencil on graph paper,
    then I went back with sharpie and marked the quilting design.
    This is the sharpie bleeding through the back.


  6. I volunteer with a really cool local nonprofit organization called GenAustin. GenAustin organizes an after-school program for middle school girls. The organization hires and trains high school girls who in turn lead the after-school program for the younger girls. It’s an amazing program that I hope will spread to other communities.

  7. I think I’ve written about this on the blog before, but I’m a statistical anomalie in that I always loved math in school, and I’m still pretty good at the basics. I love ken ken puzzles. And I actually enjoy the math associated with designing a quilt pattern. I play a game with precuts to see how big of a quilt I can squeeze out.
I don’t think I’ve shown this on the blog before, either.
But if you know me, you’ve definitely seen it a bunch.
I made it using this pattern and tutorial.


Now, as far as nominating others for this award, I’m on the fence. While I appreciate the sentiment of the award I was given, I can’t seem to get the image of junior high AOL 4.0 chain e-mails out of my mind. So, I have a short list in my head of people I will give this award to, but first I want to ask y’all if you think I should add links to the chain. What are your thoughts on blog awards? Did you actually read this whole post? Did you find it remotely interesting, or do I owe you precious minutes of your life back?

6 thoughts on “>it’s about to get autobiographical, y’all

  1. >I only nominated 5 blogs that I actually thought deserved it because I also think it's awfully reminiscent of a chain letter. Still happy to have given it to you. 🙂

  2. >First, I LOVE love LOVE tv. I'll even make plans around what's on and I always have it on while I'm sewing. Second, I think blog awards are nice, after all, it's great to be recognized but I agree they are a little junior high. Third, I read the entire post. And you dont owe me any minutes of my lift back 😉

  3. >Great post!! SOOO here goes. ENGLISH TEACHER IN THE HOUSE!! (Ok, so technically I'm a Hebrew teacher now, but I'm a FORMER English teacher.)The your/you're thing makes me BATSHIT crazy. Closely followed by any kind of textspeak or people who put "soandso and I" in picture captions. It would be soandso and ME! (Yes, I see my fragment.) H'ANYWAYS!"Where is it at?" You may NOT end a sentence with a preposition."I think it went good" It did not end WELL for the one who said "it went good.""I feel badly" This would be an incorrect usage of an adverb. Technically this little guy is attempting to modify feel. Unfortunately he fails, as "badly" is not HOW he feels. There are a few of us (grammar sticklers) left!

  4. >P.S. OpenID erased my first comment and I felt SO compelled to share my grammar prowess with you I wrote it again. ALSO…yes, I read the whole post and seeing as I took double the time to type my comment, I enjoyed the minutes spent here this afternoon.

  5. >I read the entire post and loved it — I now have to go back and look at the pictures. (I usually look at the pictures on a blog and read if I like the pics.)I can't tell you what's wrong with the three sentences, but I can tell you what I believe they should be. "Where is it?" "I think it went well." "I feel poorly."As for awards, like chain letters, they were meant to be broken.

Leave a Reply

