moving forward

Whoops. It was starting to look like I set up this new space and then abandoned it. When I set up this new space, I wrote about finding balance, which sometimes means riding the wave and taking time to re-settle.

In June I started working fo’ free (aka interning) at the awesome local nonprofit I’ve been volunteering with for a year and a half. Also, my mom visited, and I got “promoted” to full-time at my for-pay job at the newspaper.

In July, I realized how quickly an extra 11 hours per week of paid work, plus an extra 10-15 hours per week of free work adds up. Oh, and I took the GRE, of which I’ll spare you the gory details and just say: it was stressfull, and studying is time-consuming. I’ll admit it: I over-committed.

Going into August, the test is behind me, and I will soon return to my regular 2 or so hours a week of volunteering — for-pay work still wants me 40 hours per week, and for that I am thankful. I feel like I have room to breathe again. I’ve been reading more, both at work and at home. I’ve been cooking, which is insanely out of character for me (more on that later). I’ve been enjoying alone time. On more than one occasion, I spent an afternoon playing my guitar.

And, lately, I’m finally feeling like creating again. The urge grows out of a sort of restiveness in my free time. I’m glad, because one of my cousins is having a baby, and a crib set is in order.

Leave a Reply

