First finished crochet project: Seija hat

baby hat

So Lesson 20 in Crochet School at the Crafty Minx blog was all about reading patterns. To be honest, I started this project when I was all caught up, at Lesson 17 (granny squares), before Dana had written up and posted the wrist warmer pattern she made for the class. I haven’t decided if I’ll make the wrist warmers, though, because I can’t think of a time I’d wear them. (Either way, free pattern pdf with awesome video instructions here.)

My friend Etienne loaned me her copy of Happy Hooker, which just happened to have a super-easy pattern for a baby hat. I modified it a little — used two colors instead of three, opted to do decrease stitches instead of skipping stitches on the earflaps and nixed the braided ties that should be hanging from the earflaps (because they’ll just wind up in baby’s mouth). Here are pictures on Ravelry from people who followed the pattern as written.

My patriotic, matted teddy bear is serving as a model right now. I’m thinking this hat is a tad big for the newborn, so I’m going to hold on to it, and probably add matching booties and other goodies, until Christmas, when she’ll be about 2 months old. She’ll still probably have some time to grow into it at that point, but hopefully it’ll fit her before spring.

One thought on “First finished crochet project: Seija hat

Leave a Reply

