new project, new scraps

sorting

My plans for my day off yesterday got canceled, so I decided to dive into a new project. My little brother dropped all these shirts off with me, well, I don’t remember when, but I’m hoping less than a year ago. I spent a few hours sorting, measuring, arranging and rearranging, and then I spent something at least six hours starching, pressing and cutting. And here I thought I was embarking on a quick project… I should know better.

cut

scraps

On the upside, it doesn’t look like the edges are going to give me much trouble. I was worried about them curling up, but the starch and pressing seem to have taken care of that thus far.

I can’t believe it took me so long to press and cut the shirts. Though it doesn’t seem so bad after some math: I averaged about 10-12 minutes per shirt. I’m sure it wouldn’t take me quite so long to press and cut if I weren’t so obsessive about neatly stacked pieces. See how all the edges line up just so?

Even my leftover pieces are somewhat neatly folded. Of course, I have no idea what to do with my leaning pile of scraps now. I don’t see myself working with a lot of knits anytime soon. Some will probably become bracelets or headbands. Of course, not all of the shirts are lightweight and soft enough to refashion like that. (And unfortunately, I didn’t read this tutorial before I cut the shirts.) Anyone have ideas for the rest?

6 thoughts on “new project, new scraps

  1. You are an awesome sister! A friend is chatting with me right now about tshirt quilts for her daughter and there is no way I’m volunteering to make her one. 🙂

    • Thanks, Bobbi! It was my mom’s idea, and how could I say no to my little brother? 🙂 I’m calling it a “quilanket,” because it’s kind of somewhere between a quilt and a blanket.

      Meghan

  2. Oooh, well, you’re learning experience is not in vain. Ever since I showed my wildfire donation quilt to the gals at work, there have been requests for t-shirt quilts. I imagine I’ll be following this trail you’re blazing before too long!

    • Oh, you’re much nicer than I am, Claire! I don’t like to make things for people I’m not related to (other than gifts, of course) because I just don’t think they appreciate the work that goes in. The people who have asked me have balked at the price.
      But even if I never make another t-shirt quilt (or “quilanket,” as I’m calling this one), I’ll just be glad to say I can and I have.

  3. Pingback: Christmas roundup part two: Dad’s hat « scrambled meggs

Leave a Reply

