charity quilt blocks

The Austin Modern Quilt Guild is making a charity quilt for Artists Against Cancer, in honor of one of our amazingly talented members who is fighting it. Bobbi is organizing this endeavor and assembling the blocks, and one of our fearless leaders (read: officers), Jessica, is going to quilt it. The finished product will be auctioned next month at the Artists Against Cancer Art fundraiser.

Bobbi is a much more charitable crafter than I am, recently finishing her fourth such quilt. I have wanted for a long time to donate a quilt, but it keeps getting pushed down the to-do list. But a couple of blocks? That I can do.

12.5 inch SOLID blocks for a charity quilt

(photo by Bobbi)

Guild members have already made some pretty amazing contributions — I especially love the two on the bottom left. The only requirements are that the blocks measure 12½” square and be made with only solid fabrics. Bobbi is going to sash the blocks in white, so she suggested that we not use white in the blocks (or at least along the block’s edges) so they would “pop.”

I dug through my stash and found some solids, then I did some brainstorming. By “brainstorming,” I mean I looked over pictures of quilts that I had pinned or favorited on flickr. After much perusal, this lovely quilt inspired this block:

IMGP1749.JPG

It came together very quickly, using this technique for wavy seams. (I also used that method in the quilt I made for my brother last year.)

For the second block, I decided half-square triangles in a sort-of gradient would be cool, and I added a bit of aqua to make it more interesting. This one is by far my favorite:

charity block 1

I can’t wait to see what others make and how it looks with all the different contributions, and I’m glad something I’ve made is finally going to a good cause.

One thought on “charity quilt blocks

  1. Pingback: Solidarity Quilt « scrambled meggs

Leave a Reply

