thinking bigger

Tonight, my lovely roommate and I thought “let’s recover these old pillows that don’t really go with the rest of our living room at all.” So we picked some lovely fabrics on the shelf ( and started brainstorming. Once we picked fabrics, my brain instantly went to patchwork. I wanted to create a pattern of a lot of little shapes of varying fabrics. I pictured something like this, maybe? Maybe with diamonds or triangles. Small pieces, nonetheless. Then I looked down to see what my roommate had laid out on the pillow. Beautifully fat strips of fabric.

for the front (left) and the back (right)

Here I was thinking about small shapes, and she busts out divine swaths. I’m excited to make these pillow cases. They’ll be relatively quick, easy and fun. And their design will remind me to thing bigger.

Leave a comment